2013 National Marathon Championships Wrap Up


 2013 National Marathon Championships – Perth Western Australia. 

A small but very competitive team made the trip to Perth, WA to represent not only themselves but also CCPC and Queensland at the National Championships 29th and 30th March 2013. The championships were hosted by the Ascot Kayak Club and held on the Swan River.


Hayden Clark was the super star performer of the competition taking home the National Title in the hotly contested U16 K1 class. John “Newtdog” Newton shone brightly, all smiles after also crossing the line in first place to take home the gold as National Champion in the Vet 70 K1.


Lynwen and Mark lined up against Sharon and Darryl in the Mixed K2. After some bullying race tactics (by non CCPC competitors) and interesting racing Lynwen and Mark crossed the line victorious just ahead of Sharon and Daryl who finished in 2nd place.


Mark Rickard looked fast and furious during his portages to finish up 5th after 25km in the Vet 50 K1, while Darryl Stenlake paddled his kayak nicely to place 4th in the K1 Vet 40.


Lynwen Birch had a very impressive paddle which saw her finish 3rd in the Open Womens k1 while Sharon Kyme took home 2nd Place in the Vet 35 K1.


Congratulations to all CCPC members.


The 2013 Australian Canoe Marathon Teams for the World Games in Cali, Colombia and the ICF World Canoe Marathon Championships in Copenhagen, Denmark have been announced (subject to ratification of the Australian Canoeing Board).

World Games

Men K1 – Michael Leverett

Men K2 – Bennett Maxwell / Dale Thompson

Women K1 – Kate McGrath

World Championships

Senior Men K1 – Michael Leverett

Senior Men K2 – Bennett Maxwell / Dale Thompson

Under 23 Men K1 – Josh Kippin

Junior Men K1 – Casey Haynes and Logan Dutton

Junior Men K2 – Logan Dutton / Casey Haynes and Jak Bain / Coran Longwood

Senior Women K1 – Kate McGrath

Under 23 Women K1 – Marlena Ahrens

Junior Women K1 – Kayla Whinray

Junior Women K2 – Kayla Whinray / Brownwyn Martin

Senior Men C2 – Roger French / Jason Nejman

Team Manager – Cameron McGill

Assistant Team Manager – Terry Poole